Week 56 – November 23, 2015 – Forgiveness

I know that our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ lives and that He answers our prayers. Just this morning I was struggling with a problem. I was a little bit angry and needed some counsel on how I could fix it. I said a small pray simply asking that He give me an answer through the scriptures I was going to read in Mosiah 10. I tell you folks, the very first verse of the chapter contained the answer to my question. Mosiah 10:1 tell us that as we see the good in others we will not have the desire to ‘destroy’ them or speak badly of them or treat them wrongly. The scriptures give us the answers we need!! Trust the Lord. Pray. Read. and Act.

This week we found Teresa. She is the cousin of an investigator that the elders have. There are so many scriptures in Doctrine and Covenants that talk about how the angels are preparing the people to hear this message of the restored gospell. Teresa is one of those chosen and prepared souls. She is young about 25 years old. She accepted a baptismal date for the 12th of December. What better gift could one recieve for Christmas than a cleansing of their sins given by the Lord and Savior himself. Pray for her! She is golden! Pray that she may be able to understand and that we as missionaries are able to have the spirit with us to be able to teach. I don’t think I have ever been so excited to teach someone. When we had our first visit with her I felt so much love for her even though I had only met her 10 minutes before. She needs a change, as she says, in her life and we as missionaries and members of this true church know that the change she looks for is the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Pray for Teresa.
This week we have been sharing Doctrine and Covenants 64:9-10 with all the ward members. We are sharing a message about forgiveness with them. It is helping the ward be more unified. I invite all of you who have a grudge against someone or have something inside you that needs to be forgiven, whether it be you or someone else, I invite you to forgive it. Because the promise from the savior is that when we forgive others, and all the people, he will forgive us! Forgiveness = freedom and forget.
Just so you all know I play soccer like a latina now. I am getting better! Even the youth here tell me that…. a little bit prideful but I’m working on it 😉
I love fútbol.
I hope you all have a great thanksgiving! I will be thinking of food… I mean I will be thinking of all of you and how grateful I truly am to be so blessed with such a wonderful family and such great friends that all teach me and support me. I love you all.
Be thankful. Not just today. But everyday.
Hermana Janessa Houston
Leave a Reply

