Week 55 – November 16, 2015 – Service is Awesome

We have been doing a lot of hand service. SERVICE IS AWESOME!!!!!

I don’t think I have ever done so many things manually or by hand than I have here being on my mission. I am turning into a handy woman!!

It is officially summer and HOT now.  Weeding is a regular service that we do for people.
 I’ve started giving coats, scarves, sweaters and such away to people who need them alot more than me. It feels good to share and to lighten my load.
On P-day we got to play futball (soccer) on a real turf field.  It was so much fun.  Us American Yankees ( as the Argentine People call us) are getting sunburns that are turning into tans as we are outside walking around EVERY Day.  It is great though, it reminds me of Sunny St.George.
We ate dinner with a less active family.  They served us a roasted chicken, cooked in a plastic roasting bag.  It tasted so good to us, as we mostly eat pasta every day.

I also almost went swimming this week as you all will find out because I had to get thigh deep into the baptismal font. What happened is that the elders had a baptism two weeks ago and they didn’t let the water out. When we got there to drain it… the drain didn’t work.. Just ask me how excited my face looked….(EEK) . . . . We called and texted and came to find out that no one in the ward knew how to get it to work so we gathered some buckets and I volunteered to get into the water (that smelled like fish) and we began. An hour and a half later we finally scraped the bottom and cleaned it with some good cleaner. A new experience.
Saturday was Sayi’s Baptism. We had a struggle of knowing who was going to baptize her but it ended up being Elder Damico from Brazil. The whole bapitsm went smooth and on Sunday she was confirmed a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. woohoo!!
It was so fun to be able to teach a child about our Heavenly Father who loves us and knows us. She enjoyed her baptism and it just so happened to be her 10th Brithday. How awesome!
I feel so grateful for the opportunity I have had to be just a small part in this great miracle of the Lord. I am nothing but His instrument. I am His servant. I am His banner. I am His daughter.
What I learned about God this week: I learned that God sent His only Begotton Son to suffer for us to give us the opportunity to repent. The gift of God is repentance through His son Jesus Christ. Let us repent. Let us be clean. Let us follow Him.
Mosiah 2-5. King Benjamin’s words to his people. My favorite part of the Book of Mormon.
I know this church is true and that this is the only true church which provides us with the plan and the means by which we are able to return to our loving Heavenly Father who is so filled with mercy.
Let people repent.
 
I love you all!!
 
Hermana Janessa Houston

Leave a Reply

