Week 45 – Taught by a Seventy – Elder Teixiera

HEYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.

I am soooo happy today. Yesterday, Hermana Larson and I were listening to some of her music as we ate lunch (mission appropriate of course) and we found the COOLEST rendition to What do you do in the summertime, the childrens song. So fun! We listen to it so much now and it is helping us keep up the ánimo!
This week we had the opportunity to go to Bariloche, by bus, to be spoken to by a Seventy, Teixiera is his last name. I am not sure if I spelled it right but he spoke in the last conference. We listened to him speak and oh my goodness gracious it was exactly what I needed to hear. Him and his wife spoke about goals and how we are to work with them to push us to FIND CHILDREN OF GOD WHO HAVE BEEN PREPARED. His wife spoke and she talked about being sad or unexcited and how sometimes we feel like we are the only missionary who is not excited about the work. But then she told us that its okay to feel that way sometimes. Obviously we need to get our excitement back up but she told us that the best missionary in the Book of Mormon felt the same way, Alma. In chapter 8 of Alma we hear of the sadness Alma was feeling as he was being rejected by the people and how he was comforted. It made me think of an experience that I had in my first transfer as my comp and I were walking and I was feeling down hearted and that scripture came to my mind.
Sometimes we get down in life. Sometimes things don’t feel like they are going right. Sometimes we feel like the weight that is on our shoulders is too heavy. And yeah, sometimes it really actually is but we need to remind ourselves that the greatest human being to ever walk the face of this planet and universe felt the exact same way. We need to remind ourselves that we are on the same team as the person and God who conquered the world. We need to remind ourselves that today, yesterday and forever, Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior, knows how we feel and knows how heavy it is and He is carrying our loads with us.
I learned this week about God: That he is merciful and that He preached his gospel through His children.
I love this Gospel. I love the grace of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I have felt His love and I have felt His change.. The gospel is here to make us happy. Let us enjoy it.
1 Pedro/Peter 1:22
I’ll See You Soon,
Hermana Janessa Houston
9-7-15 Helping Rita
9-7-15 Just woke up
9-7-15 Lake Bariloche
9-7-15 More Selfies
9-7-15 My ears are transparent
9-7-15 P Day Hike
9-7-159-7-15 Selfies
Leave a Reply

