Week 42 – Service and Kind Words 8-17-15

Folks! I am back!

Well, needless to say this week was rather… bummerish.. We didn’t have much success. But we are keeping our heads up and just putting our shoulders to the wheel.
This week I have been learning a lot about obedience and health. Hermana Larson and I have started running a lot and really working on being obedient in the schedules and mission handbook. We are seeing miracles little by little as we strive to keep ourselves in check with the rules and standards. We have been seeing a raise in our health and energy. I know that when church leaders put rules and we follow the rules of the prophets in the scriptures we are blessed with energy enough to run and not fail.
We saw a lot of disappointments this week. We called a less active member to put an appointment with her and she just began ripping us apart. It is really hard to listen to someone destroy what you believe in. She went on for about 25 minutes and then she just told us she wants nothing to do with the church. We invited her to read the Book of Mormon and pray to God. She had started going to worldly sources for her answers and not to God. Hermana Larson and I just talked it out and recited some favorite memorized scriptures to lift our spirits.
I know that we can find comfort in the scriptures no matter what the situation. We can look to the teachings of Christ and really live. I am very grateful for my knowledge of this true and living gospel. The only true church to be on the earth. I am very grateful for my rooted parents that have taught me all that they believe and that I should ask God if I want to really know. I am grateful for my friends who have supported me and kept me laughing. I am grateful for all the trials I have ever had in my life. They have made me who I am today. And for that I am deeply grateful. I am grateful to a Heavenly Father who so loved the world that He sent His only Begotten Son, even Jesus Christ, to save us all.
I learned that God is a God of comfort and that He really is. Out of all the titles He has, He has asked us to call him Father.
May we praise Him through active service and kind words this week.
Thank you for all of the birthday wishes. You folks are seriously the most lovely things to ever speed walk the planet. Thanks!
I am happy, healthy and look forward. Because faith always points to the future.
I’ll see you all soon.
Hermana Janessa Houston
Leave a Reply

