Week 22: “Completely Obedient” The hardest week of my mission so far!! 3-30-15 Cervantes, Argentina

Hola!

Wow. So many things happened this week. But honestly I can say that this week was the hardest week of my mission so far. Bueno, there were a lot of good things and a lot of hard things. But firstly, the bad so that we can end on a high note, yeah?
This week we got ourselves a real talkin’ to from Estela. She sat us down basically told us that we can’t come by her house anymore and that we can’t keep asking them to get baptized. She said it kind of like this: “You kids have done your job of showing me the way and so now it is my responsibility if I choose it or not, not yours. And for right now we are stopped.” Now, let me just say this. Essentially, she dropped us. We left her house and I couldn’t hold back anything. I just cried until I had nothing else to cry. It sucks so bad so see someone you love so much just.. reject the things that can really make them happy. The feeling of pain and sorrow isn’t pleasant one bit. In my journal I wrote and wrote and wrote and never ever have I prayed so hard through tears so strong.
Overall, this was the conclusion I came to and the thing that I learned. Disobedience is not worth the price. Overlooking the little things is not worth the consequence of pain and real sorrow. Always be obedient. Don’t ever second guess the rules. We have rules and commandments to keep us safe from harm but also from sorrow. ¡¡Guárdelos!! “Nunca jamas vamos a ser desobedientes.. porque ahora… sabemos el precio y sabemos el dolor y sabemos la pena. Y.. no vale la pena para ver alguien que le ama caer por su culpa y su desobediencia. It just isn’t worth it.” (line from my journal).
And now, I pray every day for strength to be completely obedient. And I pray with frequency that that my weaknesses don’t keep me from helping all the people that the Lord wants me to help….. Anyway. That was the hardest day of my mission so far and wow.. I don’t ever want that to happen again and so I have set goals and plans to help me be better and more effectively edify my mission and edify my missionary comission:

“I am called of God.
My authority is above that of kings of the earth.
By revelation I have been selected as a personal representative of the Lord Jesus Christ.
He is my master and He has chosen me to represent Him–to stand in His place, to say and do what He Himself would say and do if He personally were ministering to the very people to whom He has sent me.
My voice is His voice, and my acts are His acts; my doctrine is His doctrine.
My Commission is to do what He wants done; To say what He wants said; to be a living modern witness in word and in deed of the divinity of his great and marvelous Latter-day work.
How great is my calling!”

On a happy and higher note this week I had the opportunity to finish the Book of Mormon for the 2nd time in the mission. And this time it was different. I now see the Book of Mormon as the medicine for the sick and afflicted and we, as missionaries, are the doctors and nurses that have been called by the grand professor, even Jesus Christ. I invite all of you to read it cover to cover, even the introduction and all the witnesses testimonies. All of it! Pick a starting day and pick an ending day and then make goals and plans and a chart to mark off every day. It will truly bless your life and your soul as you search diligently and seek hard. I know that the Book of Mormon is true and that it really is the keystone to our religion, as members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. The Book of Mormon is the literal evidence of our religion and beliefs. Read it, Study it, Pray about it, and then live it.

We had a cool lesson with a less active member yesterday after church. She said something that really hit me. She said: To live the gospel is to share it. Wow. Think about that. It was profound and yet simple. Entonces, If you really want to live the gospel, share it.
That’s all I have time for today but know that I love this church and gospel and I love being a missionary. Yes we have days that are hard and terrible but the blessings and miracles that we see far outweigh the bad days.
This week I learned the God humbles us when we least expect it.
I love you all. Thank you for everything!

The missionary with a smile and a purpose,
Hermana Janessa Houston
3-30-15 Carrots.  We are on a diet:)

3-30-15 Carrots. We are on a diet:)

3-30-15 Hermana Houston and Hermana Farrow in Orchard wearing sweaters.  The weather is cooling off a little bit.

3-30-15 Hermana Houston and Hermana Farrow in Orchard wearing sweaters. The weather is cooling off a little bit.

3-30-15 Orchard (1)

3-30-15 Orchard (1)

3-30-15 Orchard 2 JUMP

3-30-15 Orchard 2
JUMP

Leave a Reply

