Week 9 in Argentina. (December 22, 2014) Cervantes and Roca

Bienvenidos!

We finished the Nutella! que triste, ¿no? Last p-day we were planning and eating Nutella and crackers. I was scraping the sides with a spoon and everything! I don’t remember if I told you guys but Hermana Resquin is goo-goo for Nutella. So when I scraped the last bit out she was literally almost in tears! So the Nutella is gone. haha. The other day I even asked her, ‘quiere Nutella?’ and she said ‘encerio, tiene mas?’ all perky like and I said no and she was so devastated. haha it ended up being a really funny joke. so thanks for sending that with me mom! it was a bonding tool!

Food story! Last Tuesday we were in Roca for our district meeting and so we had lunch with the other Hnas. We bought one hamburger for all of us. sounds like it wasn’t much huh? Oh no, think again, folks! It was a hamburger the size of a large sized pizza in the U.S! My mind… {mushroom cloud}. IT was so good and we couldn’t even finish it! I wish I would have taken a picture!

One of the recent converts here, her name is Cristina, she can’t read… Well, she can read but is about at a kindergarten level. So we went and helped her read a chapter in 1st Nephi. It was a humbling experience for me. It made me appreciate and realize how privileged we are in the United States. I am so grateful for my ability to read and write. Stay in school, kids!!

One of our investigatores is Belen. She is 16 years hold and supposedly wants to get baptized and she understands so much, but her mom doesn’t want her to get baptized.. so we are working on that. Anyways, on Thursday we taught the law of chastity to her. It was my first experience teaching it and it went a lot better than I thought it would. She wasn’t to sure about it though because the culture here is that everyone has a boyfriend/girlfriend and the majority of parents here are not married. This seems to be the biggest problem here with most investigators. So pray for Belen and her heart!

Always pray please!

The same day that we taught Belen we didn’t have any success. “No one seemed to be home” {I put that in quotes because I’m pretty sure they were all home and just didn’t answer the door, the common culture here}. Anyway, we were getting rejected and no one wanted to listen to us and I was kind of getting down on myself. But then this thought came to me of the story of Alma when he is out preaching the gospel and has great success  and baptisms in the city of Melek but he is rejected in Ammonihah. So he leaves. He is in midst of journeying to the next city of Arom when his thoughts are sad and “weighed down.. because of the wickedness of the people in Amonihah” and that they rejected the word of God. And then the scriptures say this: “it came to pass while alma was thus weighed down with sorrow, behold an angel of the Lord appeared unto him, saying: Blessed art thou, Alma; therefore, lift up thy head and rejoice, for thou hast great cause to rejoice; for thou hast been faithful in keeping the commandments of God from the time which thou receivedst thy first message from Him.” {Alma 8:14-15} After this thought came to me another flooded in that said, “Hermana Houston, you have great reason to rejoice! you have the gospel in your life! You have an eternal family! You have friends supporting you! You have good health! you have knowledge of the fullness of the gospel and most importantly, you have a Father and Mother and Brother in heaven, even Jesus Christ, that love you and are supporting you every day because you are out proclaiming their work and sharing their truth!” wow. I am truly blessed. My mentality after this thought was completely and totally changed. Yeah, we don’t have many people to talk to. Yeah, we get rejected, and yeah, sometimes it’s hard. But we have great reason to rejoice! Especially as members of the truest and fullest church! We have a perfect gospel that provides us with a way back home to our loving Heavenly Father through the Atonement and Resurrection of His Son, our Redeemer, Jesus Christ! How can we not rejoice when knowing that? The Lord is good, all the time, and all the time, the Lord is good.

On Friday we had zone conference and we did a white elephant activity and fractoras and it was fun to do some Christmas activities. But wow. I love zone conferences. The topic that Pres. Lovell spoke about was the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Which was completely perfect. His mom passed away the week that I was in the mission home, 3 weeks ago. so the topic of the resurrection seemed fitting. For some reason the resurrection isn’t talked about much because we always focus so much on the atonement. I think that we need to realize that it wasn’t until the resurrection that the whole atonement of Christ was completed! But let me just say this: I cried and felt the spirit so much in our zone conference. Pres. Lovell shared videos and pictures of his mother with us and one thing he said to us through teary eyes was this: “I know that this mission isn’t the first time we’ve met and I know that it won’t be the last. all of you will meet my parents.” Wow. The calm power that Pres Lovell speaks with pierces my very soul. He and Hermana Lovell are elect people of God. In my interview with them I can see and feel the love they have for me and their calling here in the Neuquen Mission. One thing that Pres Lovell told me was to always share what I learn about God each week.

So this week I learned that God will always give us reason to rejoice and that His timing is perfect and that when those times come that you feel it’s to hard, {and i know they will come} and you are beat down to your knees.. you shouldn’t be afraid to stay on your knees for a little while and talk with God. And then “gaze heavenward, and say ‘I understand Lord. I know what this is. A time for me to prove myself, isn’t it?'” {elder jorg klebingat of the seventy, 2014 oct general conference}. Just as Julie Kiser said in her little note I got: ‘Keep your chin up and your knees bent.’

Well, I hope all of you have a most joyous Christmas! Remember what it is really about! Go to the website {navidad.mormon.org} and was the El es la Dadiva video. And try to give gifts to the Savior who gives us the greatest gifts of all. Give fits lie: be more patient, be forgiving, be humble, say your prayers more.. and such things. It’s in Spanish but it’s two minutes of spirit and helps all of us remember why Christmas is. Share it on facebook for all your friends to see. Spread the real reason for Christmas. Feliz Navidad, Folks!

I’ll see you soon, then!

Hermana Houston
December 2014, Hermana Houston & Hermana Resquin

December 2014, Hermana Houston & Hermana Resquin

Canal Bridge in Cervantes December 2014

Canal Bridge in Cervantes December 2014

District Mtg December 2014

District Mtg December 2014

Brad Turek and Janessa Houston in outdoor choir.  Roca, Argentina.   It was cold and windy.  We handed out fruitcakes to people that came.

Brad Turek and Janessa Houston in outdoor choir. Roca, Argentina.
It was cold and windy. We handed out fruitcakes to people that came.

Zone Conference and Outdoor Choir. December 2014

Zone Conference and Outdoor Choir. December 2014

Leave a Reply

