WEEK 8 IN ARGENTINA

December 15, 2014

Hola and come le va, todos?

This week has been a week of learning and learning and little more learning. Last p-day we had dinner with a family that are investigators {it was weird because you basically never have dinner with anyone because lunch is the main meal here}. But let me say this: Argentine dutch oven is AWESOME. Jose, the dad, cooked it. My stomach and taste buds were leaping. Also, the bread here is so good! I love it! Which could in turn be a bad thing because to much bread equals gordita right? I’ll figure it out. After we ate dinner with them we shared the El es la Dadiva video with them and the spirit flooded in. It was the first time I have felt the spirit that strongly in the field. It was amazing. Both the Elders testified and then Hna Resquin testified and then it was my turn. By this point my heart was beating up into my eyes and my palms were sweating {that’s how i feel the spirit folks} and I simply told them that I don’t speak much spanish and I don’t understand all of spanish.. but I came here, to Argentina, because I know that the message of the Restored Gospel is true and it is important. I came to spread it’s joy and fulness. …It was so spiritual! As we left I thought to myself.. ‘that is what missionary work is about’. Awesome!

Yesterday I caught myself singing ‘We can be together forever someday’ from The Forgotten Carols. I love that play. I have found that teachings families is the funnest thing. We are teaching the Gevandes family {the family that we ate dinner with} and the Munoz family that are recent converts and then the Silva family. Everytime we go and teach these families I can’t help but  feel the spirit testify to me that families are of God. I wish I could teach them every single day because I can feel the love that God has for them. There is no question as to why families are at the center of this gospel. Families are eternal and I am so grateful for my family and their support. I do miss them, but I know that I am a missionary and a missionaries job is to give up time with their family for two years so that others can be with their families for eternity. Families are of God, folks. Don’t ever question that.

One cool thing that I learned this week was about numbers in the mission. Our district leader Elder Welch gave a lesson in our district meeting about his. From what I understood he said this: That numbers don’t represent our success, they simple respresent people. Now that might not make sense to people who haven’t used the indicaters in the mission today but I know that I am not worried about numbers, I am simply worried about people. It was a cool realization and it reiterated what I said the in one of my past letters that ‘It’s all about the people’.

On Tuesday, we had a member come with tracting with us, Guido Munoz. He is this sweet old man and he has the nicest heart. We were walking down the street and he turns to me and says, ‘this is for you, hermana’. I looked and he gave me flower that he had just picked off of a tree. so simple. and so small. But oh my goodness my heart was melted! That is what the picture of the flowers is. He is the sweetest old man. I LOVE OLD PEOPLE!

A little old man, Guido Munoz picked this flower for me.

A little old man, Guido Munoz picked this flower for me.

Okay! muy rado! Hna Resquin and I were walking the other day and I was trying to chat it up so I can practice spanish and get to know her better. We got talking about the presidents of our countries and when it came to President Obama she said this: Obama es muy guape. {that means that he is good looking} My brain was like… huh… hahaha. She said that most latina girls think that President Obama is good looking. That was such a weird concept and I am still not sure if my mind is wrapped around it yet.

12-15-14  Janessa loves VW Buses. Look at the dusty roads and shoes.

12-15-14 Janessa loves VW Buses. Look at the dusty roads and shoes.

Fun side note: Elder Turek and i were talking and decided that when I get back from the mission we are going to go climbing with Brennan Dean! woohoo! I love that kid!
My budget on the card from the mission is 135 dollars. which is more in pesos but it goes fast with food and the bus. We can’t buy food in bulk so we buy food often. it sucks kind of but yeah. i found out that hna resquin hates veggies. so i haven’t eaten any veggies yet. she is a funny one.

Sunday! We had a total of 15 people! woohoo! oh and one of our investigators Belen came! She wants to get baptized but her mom won’t let her. We are working on softening her mama. It rained like mad yesterday!

I was reading the November conference Ensign just yesterday. Jeffrey R Hollands talk ‘Are we not all beggars’ struck me. He said this: “Although I may not be my brother’s keeper, I am my brother’s brother, and ‘becasue I have been given much, I too must give.'” Ever since I was little my favorite hymn has been 219 Because I have been given much. I know that I am so fortunate and I know service is a huge part of my life. I hope everyone takes this quote and puts it into action. Give give give. Especially because it is Christmas. I know that as we give, others are blessed and when we are in the service of our fellow men we are in the service of our God.

I love you all so much and thank you for your prayers and thoughts. I can literally feel them. You all are my crutches. And I know that He is my strength. (2 Nephi 22:2).

Adios! I only have little time now so I try to share the important parts. I love you all!! mwahh!
I’ll see you soon,
Love,
Hermana Houston
This is my favorite  Human

This is my favorite Human

12 Days of Christmas from YW in Jedora Ward

12 Days of Christmas from YW in Jedora Ward

My apartment in Cervantes, Argentina. 12-12-14

My apartment in Cervantes, Argentina. 12-12-14

Leave a Reply

