Week 3 in the MTC

Que tal, todas personas?

So last P-day we went to the temple and I did sealings for the very first time. It was amazing. The sealer was this ol’ Samoan guy who simply loved the work of the temple. He was the sweetest soul! Last week was the last week of good weather. It is now officially cold. I wear cardigans [which I am thankful that you sent those mom!] and I wear two or three layers now. It is a bit nippy out [say this in a British accent].
So we teach investigators, like Marco and such, right? Well, now on Thursday afternoons we teach members! What a cool experience! Hna Van B. and I got to teach these two old men! They wer both in their 70s and they both spoke fluent spanish [thought they did speak English]. It was so nice to be teaching someone who essentially knew what we were talking about. It was like doing a home evening with them. I decided the elderly. I don’t mean that in an ‘old people’ way. My companera is probably tired of hearing me say that. Because whenever a senior missionary couple walks past us I lean over and say “I love old people.” She is a good sport to put up with it. Anyway, teaching the members was like a taste of home. It was a tender mercy from the Lord. I love it. 🙂
One study session all the Elders in our district went into the hall to study and us Hermanas stayed in the classroom. All of a sudden this envelope comes flying in from under the door. Hermana Taylor picked it up and it was to us from the Elders. I took a picture and I will attach it so you can see how sweet and loving our Elders are. I love them so much. They are my brothers away from home. I am going to miss them so much when in only 3 weeks we will be departing and they will go to Salta and us hermanas will go to Neuquen. So sad to think about but I know that their sweet hearts will help them love the people and teach the people. I love my district Elders!
This is the sweet letter that the elders wrote to us. love them

This is the sweet letter that the elders wrote to us. love them

Okay, now Sunday was probably one of the best days I have had so far on my mission. Why you ask, well settle in and I will tell ya. We arose and then studied/read our scriptures for our hour study time. After breakfast all the hermanas went to “Music and The Spoken Word” which is a broadcast done by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir every week except fast Sundays. This week they dedicated it to veterans because it was veterans day this week right? [I’m bad with those kinds of holidays]. One song stuck out to me especially: it was called the Pilgrim’s Song. The chorus lyrics go as follows: My soul doth long to go where I  fully know The glory of my Savior; And as I pass along I’ll sing the Christian song, I’m going to live forever. Wow! think about that! “I am going to live forever”. I just sat and thought: “I can’t wait for that day”.
After that we have Relief Society and Bonnie L. Oscarsen, the Young Women President of the Church, spoke to us. She gave a sweet message of why it is worth it. It was lovely. After Relief Society we have district meeting with one of the members of our branch presidency. So we went back to the classroom and Hna Van B and I were in charge of leading the discussion. It just so happened to be on faith in the Atonement. [One of my most favorite things!] It was a heart pusher discussion for sure. In the midst of discussing it with the class I had the thought to share a story from a talk given by Brad Wilcox called His Grace is Sufficient. As I was relaying this story to my district I was overcome with the spirit. And because I am like mom in this sense, I began crying while I was testifying. WhileI was testifying I was being testified to by the gift of the Holy Ghost. I know that the Atonement is real and through faith in Christ and his atonement we can be wiped clean and renewed again. It was the most powerful discussion I have been to.
Then we had TEMPLE WALK! I LOVE THE TEMPLE! and on Sunday the weather was magnificent! Oh! and this week we got 2 new districts and so we were snapping pics left and right with the new hermanas. It was muy bien. After sacrament, Elder Skousen had the idea to have a small testimony meeting with the new districts so we gathered at some picnic tables in the midst of the MTC and we had a testimony meeting. It was lovely. Elder Fuga’s testimony was the best. He bore testimony about his mom and it really got to all of us Hermanas. All in all, Sunday was a blessing from my Heavenly Father and I was renewed and ready to go. I love Sunday and the opporturnity we have to renew our covenants with God when we partake of the Sacrament, that we may start fresh and clean each week.
One more thing: Yesterday, Tuesday, we had our regular Tuesday Evening Devotional. Bishop Dean M. Davies, 2nd Counselor in the church bishopric, and his lovely wife Darla Davies spoke to us. Sister Davies stood up and she instantly reminded me of momma. She even used flashcards! [Something mom would do haha, love ya mom!] But when Bishop Davies got up.. I saw Dad. He looked and spoke and simply was like dad. He even says the days of the week like dad! [mondee, tuesdee, etc. haha] I leaned over to Hna Van B and told her that. So, on Tuesdays I try and focus on tender mercies from the Lord, and seeing Bishop Davies and seeing his wife and having them remind me of mom and dad was definitely a tender mercy. Especially because yesterday was a harder day, but it ended on that tender mercy. I love it.
Last Friday, our maestro, Hermano Miller (who was once Ulises), taught us a new saying in Spanish. It is this: Vale la pena. It means: It’s worth it. I instantly fell in love with this expression. Especially on hard days I remind myself that ‘vale la pena’ because it really is worth it. If my Savior could suffer for me and die for me and overcome death for me… then I can put in ten more minutes of study, I can say a 2 minute longer prayer, I can get up early to do service. I can put blood, sweat and tears in to this mission… Because for Him, even Jesus Christ, it was worth it.. Because to him, we are worth it.
Thank you for the support! I love every email and every letter and every prayer. I am so blessed to be where I am and I am so blessed to have the companion that I do. She is definitely a tender mercy in my MTC experience and she inspires me to be better and more studious. I love you all!!
Remember, that life is all about the people around you!
I’ll See Ya Soon,
Hermana Houston
Picture of all the Hermanas in the district. From left to right: Heremana mikolajck, hermana mcarthur, hermana Estes, Hermana Frogget, Hermana Theobald, Hermana Flores, Hermana Duncan, Hermana Van Boerum, Hermana Taylor, Hermana Eppley, ME, Hermana Nakken (from cedar), Hermana Jenesssa Hein, y Hermana Robison. LOVE THESE WOMEN!

Picture of all the Hermanas in the district. From left to right: Heremana mikolajck, hermana mcarthur, hermana Estes, Hermana Frogget, Hermana Theobald, Hermana Flores, Hermana Duncan, Hermana Van Boerum, Hermana Taylor, Hermana Eppley, ME, Hermana Nakken (from cedar), Hermana Jenesssa Hein, y Hermana Robison. LOVE THESE WOMEN!

Provo Temple

Provo Temple

Leave a Reply

